SOPA/PIPA, Searching and Retraction Blog #5

This week there were 3 pieces of media to explore and comment on. The first was a video by the TED lectures series which talked about the 2 legislative acts SOPA (Stop Online Piracy Act) and PIPA (Protect IP Act). These legislation’s were made to stop sharing of media such as audio, TV, movies ect. on the internet by internet users. The second video was by Daniel Russell and talked about the skill to search the internet for any type of information that one may want or need. Lastly, we learned about the trip to FoxConn in China and the false information that Mike Daisey made about the trip and FoxConn.

There were several interesting points discussed in this post. I was most interested in the first video with Clay Shirky because I did not know a lot about this subject. SOPA and PIPA wanted to what Clirky described toward the end to basically” break the internet”. The internet was made for the intent for people to share and gather information. With this the internet grew to something much bigger and the ability for a lot of people to connect with ideas, social media and other types of media. I thought it was very interesting when he also mentioned that the suggest producers are not Google or Yahoo or other internet search engines but the internet users. Another interesting thing that the presenter said was how we can help stop act like SOPA and PIPA. He said that we should contact our congressman and tell them that we should not be “treated as thieves”. I would never have thought I as a user was a “thief” because of what was available to me on the internet. I also really enjoyed the second video where Russell explained how searching on the internet was a skill. I believe that I have this skill actually, and he stated several things that I can compare to myself when searching on the internet. The most interesting point was when he talked about “evolving” He used the example of when his son wanted to download a song he didn’t know the artist or the title but simply searched the few simple words he knew of it. His son was able to find it and quickly as the internet search engines are constantly evolving as people have questions for it.

Found an article that explains a new bill that congress is talking about. The article “Move over SOPA & PIPA: Here comes CISPA – ‘net censorship updated” explains the new bill CISPA or The Cyber Intelligence Sharing and Protection Act. The most interesting quote from this article I found was when it says “Critics say that CISPA would give any federal entity that claims it is threatened by online interactions the ability to take action against the “perpetrator”. It makes internet users seem their story will be on Law and Order. I also thought the video at the bottom was interesting as well.

Read more: http://digitaljournal.com/article/322396#ixzz1t4g9JRzJ

4
The concept I found most hard to understand was in the first video and when the presenter described how SOPA and PIPA where going to “police” what was on the internet. Who exactly and how where they going to police so much? The internet has information adding at such a rapid rate. I was just confused about this concept and how it will actual be implemented.

5
The questions I have from the video arises from the second video when towards the end, Russell shows the picture of the Blob Fish. How can we tell if something is real or photo shop? What criteria are there?
Another question I have is from the same video. I liked that they had the application of Google goggles but it looks like that this application could only be used by people who own certain technology. How does Google try to reach people who do not own certain technology. With such an expanding company and they have so much (just realize they are tied to YouTube as it is a icon on top of their homepage) but what about those with no need for YouTube, Google goggle, or Google Maps? I think this idea of this company is to be used by all. I just wonder what ideas they will come up with next so they can say everyone has used our services.

6
The information that I learned from the second video, I will most definitely use in the very near future when I am trying to find answers to any questions that I may have. I do rely on search engines to help me find answers to my questions from personal use to professional. As well for my upcoming assignment when I need facts to get across to my audience the importance of not texting and driving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.